As kids we all had fun on the carousel
but as adults we deprive ourselves
Forget to take the time out and do things
just for the cheer joy of it, we lost our fun

We compensate in unskilful ways
with consumerism and social media
Gone are the old days of fun and games
as we bury ourselves in the unnecessary

Roasting marsh mellows over a fire
Riding down hill at break neck speed
Spinning ourselves dizzy on the roundabout
Are these childhood joys still about?

Healthier to get off the carousel of life
Turn off all devices and find some fun
Good clean fun with friends and laughs
Board games or cards, enjoy the NOW!

daily prompt: Carousel
apologies to those I have unfollowed, gearing down my blog reading as I prepare for my big adventure in a few weeks … will read more when I return

