Love is a term that we often abuse
Let’s look at it now to keep us amused?
Love songs always sell well
Sometimes our partners we do tell.

I love my parents dearly;
A stream bubbling by clearly
I love a coffee, frothy and hot;
A new-born baby asleep in their cot.

I love a woolly new lamb
And blueberry jam.
I love the wind in my hair,
and responding to a cheeky dare!

I love the sunrises pink streaks
And all those Kathmandu freaks
I love a good read
And a sweet spicy feed.

But how many of us know
How to deeply love ourselves so?
Sure we eat, sleep and care for this body
Some more than others care for their health.

But how many of us understand our inner wealth?
That we are okay,
Loved ones will stay
Even if we unwind.

Can we look inside and accept what we find?
All our dark bits we’re too scared to share.
Lets face and embrace them with gentle care
We are so precious, love yourself if you dare!

ccc 2005

